Grand Rapids Symphony's Coffee Classics 20/21st Century Concert

Royce Auditorium at St. Cecilia Music Center

24 Ransom Ave NE
Grand Rapids , MI 49503
United States

20/21st Century: Celebrating Women May 3 John Varineau, conductor Ava Ordman, trombone • JOAN TOWER: Chamber Dance • ANNA CLYNE: Within Her Arms • RUTH CRAWFORD SEEGER: Andante for Strings • RUTH CRAWFORD SEEGER: Rissolty, Rossolty • DAVID BEIDENBENDER: Concerto for Trombone (Grand Rapids co-commission) Ava Ordman, for nearly 25 years, served as Principal Trombonist of the Grand Rapids Symphony, frequently appearing as soloist with the orchestra. Now a professor of music at Michigan State University, Ordman returns for a concert of 20th and 21st century music, most of it by women. Composers included Grammy Award-winner Joan Tower and early 20th century composer Ruth Crawford Seeger who also happened to be stepmother to folksinger and songwriter Pete Seeger. Concert starts at 10:00 a.m. Complimentary coffee and donut hour begins at 9:00 a.m.

Friday, 03 May, 2019


Grand Rapids Symphony

Phone: 6164549451
Website: Click to Visit


Tickets are $16 adults, $5 students

Save this Event:

Google Calendar
Yahoo! Calendar
Windows Live Calendar

Share this Event: