Thursday, 19 March 2020 15:36

How To Help Your Favorite Servers, Bartenders and Musicians

Written by  Josh Veal
Rate this item
(2 votes)
The Meanwhile Staff. The Meanwhile Staff. Courtesy Photo

Let’s be honest: We all could use a little relief right now.

That’s especially true for workers in the service and entertainment industries, many of whom no longer have any source of income since Gov. Gretchen Whitmer (rightfully) ordered restaurants, bars, theaters and venues to close.

While you can help by ordering take-out and delivery, even that’s not enough to fully support most establishments’ full staff.

As such, many restaurants, bars and musicians have set up COVID-19 relief funds! If you’re feeling helpless during this pandemic, one of the best ways to relieve yourself of that stress is to take direct action and help someone in need.

A couple places are even offering something in return, such as Buffalo Traders Lounge’s Buffalo Cocktail Bible, with 12 cocktail recipes perfect for making at home. Check out the list below to see where you can help out service workers!

Small word of warning: We did our best to vet all the relief funds linked here, but be sure to keep an eye out for anything fishy! 

MUSIC

Michigan Music Alliance Relief Fund
michiganmusicalliance.org

Musicians all over are hurting big time due to cancelled tours, but the Michigan Artist Relief Fund is here to help. You can donate anywhere from $5 to $1,000 and that money will go to a Michigan musician who’s lost money from a cancelled gig.

FOOD & DRINK

Buffalo Traders Lounge: https://www.gofundme.com/f/buffalo-traders-lounge-staff-relief-fund

The Meanwhile: https://www.gofundme.com/f/the-meanwhile-bar-support-your-local-bartenders

The Pyramid Scheme: https://www.gofundme.com/f/the-pyramid-scheme-a-virtual-dream

Speciation Artisan Ales: https://www.gofundme.com/f/support-our-speciation-staff

Billy's Lounge: https://www.gofundme.com/f/bucks-for-billy039s

Butcher’s Union: https://www.gofundme.com/f/butchers-union-employee-relief

Graydon’s Crossing: https://www.gofundme.com/f/graydon039s-staff-relief

One Bourbon: https://www.gofundme.com/f/one-bourbon-staff-covid19-relief

Madcap Coffee: https://www.gofundme.com/f/madcap-employee-relief-fund

Gardella’s: https://www.gofundme.com/f/gardellas-staff-support

Brick & Porter: https://www.gofundme.com/f/brick-amp-porter-staff-fund

Brown Butter Creperie & Café: https://www.gofundme.com/f/brown-butter-creperie-and-cafe-staff

Mulligan’s: https://www.gofundme.com/f/virtual-tips-for-mulligan039s

O’Toole’s: https://www.gofundme.com/f/otooles-employee-relief-fund

Books & Mortar: https://www.gofundme.com/f/support-books-amp-mortar

Long Road Distillers: https://www.gofundme.com/f/long-road-distillers-employee-relief-fund

Eastern Kille (bottle and swag sales go to staff): https://www.facebook.com/easternkilledistillery/

Urban Massage: https://www.customink.com/fundraising/urban-massage

 

If you know of a relief fund we missed, feel free to email josh@revuewm.com.

Login to post comments

© 2020 Serendipity Media, LLC

Join Our Newsletter!

Please validate that you're human.

Breaking News

 Revue PreviewBox Sept20