Friday, 03 June 2016 16:02

Songs We Like, Vol. 10

Written by  Pete Bruinsma, WYCE
Rate this item
(0 votes)

This is a sonic collaboration among Revue, WYCE and AMI Jukeboxes. Play this mix as a playlist on AMI Jukeboxes, read about it here every month on and stream it on From Grand Rapids, to the world! This month: new music from The Lumineers, Radiohead, Aesop Rock and more.



The Lumineers — “Ophelia”

Ho Hey! This great new folk album from the Lumineers is just as catchy as previous records but more serious.


This Heat — “A New Kind of Water”

The latest rediscovery from the always-digging Light in the Attic Records takes us back to 1981’s London and the glorious beginning of post-rock and experimental music. The joyous droning is almost therapeutic.


Sturgill Simpson — “Brace for Impact (Live a Little)”

More “funtry” than country, Sturgill effortlessly replaces Willie as the trippiest musician in the genre. This here is a nice little country psych-funk-jam session from his bold new concept album A Sailor’s Guide to Earth.


Waxahatchee — “La Loose”

Songwriter Katie Crutchfield & Co. are back June 20 at the Pyramid Scheme with sharp, well-crafted ’90s pop nostalgia. Here’s an informal jangly tune nestled among more glorious and complicated numbers on her latest release Ivy Tripp.


Aesop Rock — “Dorks”

Aesop Rock is back June 4 for another probably-will-sell-out Pyramid Scheme show. No matter how popular he gets, dude will always be underground. “Dorks” is just a starting point for his humorous catchy and informal style reminiscent of Kool Keith, Redman or Del the Funky Homosapien.


Theo Croker — “In Orbit”

Theo is new-school, experimental and virtuosic while side-eyeing jazz tradition. This grandson of Doc Cheatham keeps jazz artistic, mathematical and sociable — a true modern renaissance musician.


Kevin Morby — “Dorothy”

Morby’s songs contain the perfect build: He takes a moment to explore an emotion or a moment then turns it into a celebration. Come for the lyrics and heart, stay for the performance when WYCE presents Kevin Morby June 16 at the Pyramid Scheme.


Chris Cohen — “Torrey Pine”

Deerhoof’s guitar player goes rogue with this foray into pop-electrica with equal parts Stereolab and Ariel Pink-style vibes.


Black Pistol Fire — “Bad Blood”

This TexaCanadian group plays June 15 at the Intersection — a show not to be missed. In the garage-punk-blues tradition of the Black Keys and Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, these guys are a surefire hit waiting to happen. 


Sam Beam & Jesca Hoop — “Every Songbird Says” 

On Love Letter for Fire, Sam Beam of Iron & Wine fame comes together with another of WYCE’s favorites, Jesca Hoop, in an authentic collaboration of two truly eclectic songwriters.


Other Tracks:

Radiohead — “Burn the Witch”

Barns Courtney — “Fire”

Michael Franti & Spearhead — “Crazy for You”

Rich Robinson — “Music That Will Lift Me”

The Avett Brothers — “Ain’t No Man”

The Staves — “Outlaw”

Highasakite — “Golden Ticket”

Quantic ft. Alice Russell and U-Roy — “A Life Worth Living

Login to post comments

© 2021 Serendipity Media, LLC

Join Our Newsletter!

 Revue DigitalMag Feb21 PreviewBox